Yummy…

I so have NOT been keeping up on my end of the deal with blogging over here.  I could start listing off excuses about how we literally have been seeming to catch every bug that we come into contact with, or how the DH has switched up his schedule so I feel a little out of whack, but truth is I don’t have a good reason except that I really just think winter has set itself in deep with me this year.  I am finding it hard to get out of the slump of sitting on the couch with a bag of the lastest junk food that I have stocked in the cupboard. I’ve been out of touch lately.

So, I am heading out of town in a few days to get some alone time with the DH and to just have some good old fashion dating fun.  We are stopping by to stay with good friends of ours for a night or two, and going to catch a pro hockey game (my first!).

What does yummy have to do with all of that your thinking. Moving on. I can’t seem to post enough about food (can you tell its one of my passions lol). J does crafting and I seem to always post about food. Here is a very good Black Bean Salsa recipe.  It does take a little bit of time but TRUST ME, its worth it.

1 1/2 c. frozen corn, thawed                                             1 med. tomato, chopped
1 c. frozen peas, thawed                                                    1/4 c. chopped red onion
1/2 tsp. ground cumin                                                       1/4 c. lime juice
1/8 tsp. dried oregano                                                       1 T. Dijon mustard
1 T. olive oil                                                                          1 clove garlic, minced
1 (15-oz.) can black beans, rinsed and drained            4 T. minced fresh cilantro
1/2 tsp. salt

In a large bowl, combine corn and peas.  In a skillet, cook cumin and oregano in oil over medium heat for 2 minutes.  Pour over corn mixture; stir to coat evenly. Stir in beans, tomato and onion.  In a small bowl, whisk the lime juice, mustard, garlic and salt. Stir in cilantro. Pour over corn mixture and stir to coat.  Refrigerate leftovers.

Whaddaya think?

