Who has the winter blues?…reds?…greens?…

Currently 2 out of the 3 munchkins are down for the count. So instead of folding the load of laundry that’s sitting in the dryer, doing the dishes that are in the sink or cleaning up the toys that are strewn across the living room floor, I will blog!

As I sit here gazing out the window I can’t help but dream I’m sitting in 80 degree weather, tanning (rather burning) somewhere on some tropical white sandy beach instead of sitting in my house hiding from the 4 degree weather and couple feet of snow that has graced us in the last few days.

We did a project this week – I have been going crazy, stuck in the house since the family came down with the stomach flu – it is a good distraction for us when sickness and cold weather keep us cooped up inside.

I got this edible finger paint recipe from pinterest. What a fun idea to do with the kids. It is edible (although probably not tasty) for my 9 month old to even join in without me worrying about sticking his fingers in his mouth!

The recipe called for corn flour, which is (I assume) similar to cornstarch (per the website) – I just used WalMart’s brand, its cheap.

Look how pretty! Just the thing to brighten up the day. Once I had it all mixed up, I spooned the paint into baby jars and added food coloring. Then I let the kids have fun!

Now I have some fun projects to hang on the fridge at home :)

One thought on “Who has the winter blues?…reds?…greens?…

  1. Erin says:

    LOVE this! I’m going to have to give it a try with my 2 year old. We’ve been cooped up in our house, and I’ve been wanting to find some fun indoor activities. Thanks for sharing!

Whaddaya think?

