Easy Roast-to-BBQ Sandwiches Meal

Often, when I’m in my own little creating world…I forget to pre-plan dinner, which leaves me scrambling that day to think of something “hearty” for my DH. (and as a side-note here, I will add that my husband is a MEAT man…a dinner without some form of meat as the largest portion–is no dinner at all!)

I’ve actually gotten pretty good at pulling things off at the last minute! Poor guy…he thinks I spend all day preparing a meal for him to come home to. (Ha-Ha.)

Here is an awesome meal that requires you to actually prepare for probably a total of 15 minutes.

The roast I used is actually venison, but I have done this with bear, beef, and pork.  Also, it helps to have a roaster- the dish used to cook the roast in the oven for the first step (pictured below).

I start this around noon-ish because you need time for the roast to cook. I cook mine right from freezer.

Being that I’m not a YAY VENISON!! fan, I doctor my roasts up quite a bit. I add in tons of onions, beef bouillon cubes, garlic, herb and garlic seasoning, a rosemary and garlic seasoning, salt, pepper, and sometimes celery and/or a cream-of soup, if I have them. Basically, everything I have in my spice cupboard that seems like it’ll doctor up the roast. This, BTW, is also how I do my regular roasts, also.

Add water to about 3/4 up on the roast. Cold water, so the meat cooks slower.

Put the roaster lid on and place in oven at about 250 degrees for 4 1/2 – 5 hours. About half-way through, I turn the oven temp up to about 300 degrees. Or whenever I happen to be passing by and think of it.

There’s really no rhyme or reason to the way I cook the roast, it kind of goes by feel.

When the roast is cooked–about 45 minutes to dinner time, I take it out of the oven roaster and shred it with forks and place just the meat into a crock pot.

 

I use Famous Dave’s BBQ Sauce. I have also started to fall in love with Guy Fieri’s line of BBQ sauces.

 

Just slop the sauce on the shredded meat and mix. Place cover on crock pot and put on high for the remainder of the time (until dinner time.) Mix every once in a while.

 

I also happened to make some homemade rolls, but bread works just as good for these sandwiches.

 

And ENJOY! Pair it with some fresh salad, veggies, or chips. Any side dish you want!

Whaddaya think?

