DIY Washi Tape for (practically) $0

There’s a few tutorials for homemade washi tape that I’ve come across (here and here, for example)…but even as intrigued as I was, I didn’t feel like going out to buy supplies just to make fancy tape. So, of course, I became creative with what I had on hand!

______________________________________________________

Need:

Scissors

Double sided tape (yes, I live in cold weather and yes, the tape I use is the leftover from our window sealing kit!)

Tissue Paper, preferably pretty printed

Place the tape- sticky side down- on the tissue paper’s back side. I only have 1 strip pictured, but do as many was you want.

Trim excess paper off.

Roll unto empty spool or cut an empty wrapping paper roll into smaller tubes and roll the tape onto that.

Pretty up any letter, card, package, etc.! Never send/give another boring blank card again! :)

The possibilities are endless! Some cute striped tissue paper would be great. Than you could run the tape along each different color of stripes and create many different colors of tape!

Happy creating! Happy decorating!

7 thoughts on “DIY Washi Tape for (practically) $0

  1. Courtney says:

    you’re so smart :) loving your bloggy

  2. Deepazartz says:

    That’s so cool! I used to glue it, now I can tape it:)

  3. Tammy says:

    love it, I have everything, so time to craft!

  4. Aimee says:

    I just bought some great leopard and zebra print tissue paper at the dollar store. Now I need to find some of that double-sided tape with the backing. Fun!

  5. Annie says:

    WOW!!! So awesome and so simple – thanks for sharing!

  6. Lola says:

    Love it, was looking for the Scotch, but can’t find it around where i live, so i also have left over window tape… thanks

Whaddaya think?

